top of page
  • Writer's pictureGen Z Collaborative

A moment with Elle Mitchell

In this exclusive interview, Elle Mitchell gives us the details as to what inspired her to write "Love and War" as well as how her upbringing and experiences contributed to her becoming as an artist.

Elle: My name is Elle Mitchell, and I'm a rising 16-year-old singer-songwriter from outside of Boston.


Gen Z Collab: How would you say your upbringing contributed to your becoming as an artist?

Elle:Since I was a young girl, my parents have always encouraged me to take risks, believe in myself, and stay true to what I love. The combination of these three things has had a great impact on my ability to become an artist. By giving me the tools to become introspective and engage deeply with the world, my parents truly inspired me to be creative and curious.


Gen Z Collab: Does your love of music impact how you see the world and the things around you? If so, How?

Elle: My love of music has given me a lens to see the world around me with greater empathy, perspective, and depth. Ultimately, through songwriting and music, I have grown to fully appreciate the complexity of humanity and of emotion.


Gen Z Collab: What would you say is the main message of “Love and War”?

Elle: The main message of “Love and War” is to encourage people to reflect on what really matters? and what (or who) is really worth fighting for? The story of “Love and War” follows a couple undergoing this process of evaluating these questions for themselves and their relationships, and where they ultimately have to decide whether or not their relationship is reconcilable. My hope is that my song can allow listeners to reflect on these questions within their own relationships, and within their own lives.


Gen Z Collab:Is there anyone that influenced you to become an artist? (Could be a family member, friend, Celebrity, etc.)

Elle: My family have always been my cheerleaders and biggest supporters throughout my music journey. However, in terms of direct influence, when I was twelve years old, I was struck by Grace Vanderwaal as I watched her win the Golden Buzzer on America’s Got Talent. I listened to her song, “I Don’t Know My Name” on replay for weeks, and her gift of songwriting inspired me to write my first lyrics.


Gen Z Collab: From your beginning of finding music to be your passion to now releasing “Love and War” , how would you say you have improved?

Elle: Musically, I’ve improved by being willing to ruminate and work through an idea in order for it take shape. Early on, I used to write a song, revise the lyrics a little, and stick closely to the original score. Now, my process is a lot more iterative. I have grown to appreciate that finalizing a song is such an intensive process of revision, production, and collaboration.

As a person, I think that I’ve improved through songwriting by being able to better collaborate and take feedback. Being an artist forces you to be totally humble. Everyone will always have their own opinions about your song—your art—so you really learn to have a thick skin and welcome all input.


Gen Z Collab: Has this Quarantine period and the recent movements around the world influenced your work? If so, How?

Elle: The song “Love and War” came as a direct result of my experiences during the quarantine period that began in March of last year. During that intense time, I observed my parents facing a lot of struggle in their marriage, and as quarantine persisted, I became really afraid that they might separate. Being in lockdown allowed all of us the opportunity to appreciate the value of family and the importance of spending time together.


Gen Z Collab: Do you have anything else you would like to say to our readers?

Elle: I hope you all are staying healthy and safe during this difficult time. Stay tuned for my new song, “Love and War,” which drops on February 3rd!


Listen to Elle Mitchell's new single "Love and War" available on Spotify!


Here's the link!


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page